top of page
Search
  • wanjohimuch

The Playbook for Budding Writers

Updated: Aug 14, 2023



Assuming you’ve decided to venture into writing, here are some tips to help you get started. Since I am a freelance writer myself focusing only on academic writing, I guess it is reasonable that I share how exactly I do that. It is a journey but, as they say, you always have to start somewhere. There are many forms of writing including authoring books, writing blog articles, health writing, business writing, IT technical writing, etc. But our focus here is academic writing.


The first thing you need is to search for credible freelance writing websites on the Internet, then register for an account. On that part of registration, you will be asked to complete some tasks in lockstep. For example, there is the part of filling your personal information, address, skills and experience, username and password, and referral information in case you are asked. I first tried to register a new account immediately after completing my undergraduate studies, I tell you my friend it was tricky. I filled all those details and submitted but for several times they declined my application. The other common task with registration is to complete some tests involving writing an essay or answering some multiple choice questions. Here, I would advise you to write an essay with an introduction, body, and conclusion. Also, my friends do not forget to include a thesis statement; they really look for that.


Before we go far, please note that the freelance companies will also ask you questions about why you chose to join their team of writers, your work plan, and the skills you have. Here, be straightforward, tell them what value you will add to their company like I wrote to them; writing quality papers, delivering projects on time, and contributing to the growth of their websites.


Generally, I have come across websites that require you to register only during a specific time of day like Uvocorp.com had this 8:00 am time where you have to fill in the details and submit. When the quota of applications they need is reached they close all the applications. Then, there are those websites where my application was declined and I had to wait for 6 months before applying again. Luckily, I got lucky during my second application because, as I tend to believe, I used a different email, passed the tests, and impressed the recruitment team. Another thing is that, during the registrations, they will give you strict deadlines of 1 hour, 3 hours, or 1 day. For example, I was once told to write a 2-page essay about the characteristics of a perfect political system within 2 hours. Let me tell you, I wrote it well and my application was accepted.


Overall, I think you need to locate credible freelance websites, fill out the details, and take some tests. That is how registrations are done. Don’t worry if your applications are rejected, one of them will finally be accepted. Sometimes we make registration attempts and fail like 3, 6, or 10 times. You wait for months or even a year before registering again. As a beginner, you will often find yourself without a blog or website of your own, so one option is to work for those companies that have existing websites already. Everything can be blurry when it comes to writing, but for beginners you can register an account and jumpstart your career. Now to help you get started, here are some links to academic writing websites you can try.



Bio

I am an experienced freelance writer who started this career about 10 years ago while still at the university. My job over the years has been writing academic papers in subjects of economics, business, public administration, sociology, psychology, marketing, philosophy, management, literature, history, and health, among others.

4 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page